GitHub for reviewing code

At my company, we’ve been using GitHub’s builtin code review tool. I totally agree with this assessment. GitHub would reap huge dividends by focusing more UX resources on their code review functionality.

Wrong Side of Memphis

A couple of weeks ago we started (in my current job) to use GitHub internally for our projects. We were already using git, so it sort of make sense to use GitHub, as it is very widespread and used in the community. I had used GitHub before, but only as a remote repository and to get code, but without much interaction with the “GitHub extra features”. I must say, I was excited about using it, as I though that it will be a good step forward in making the code more visible and adding some cool features.

One of the main uses we have for GitHub is using it for code reviews. In DemonWare we peer-review all the code, which really improves the quality of the code. Of course, peer-review is different from reviewing the code in an open software situation, as it is done more often and I suspect…

View original post 1,552 more words

Leave a Reply

